Subsection 1.-Federal Public Lands

Public lands under the administration of the Federal Government comprise lands in the Northwest Territories including the Arctic Archipelago and the islands in Hudson Strait, Hudson Bay and James Bay, lands in Yukon Territory, Ordnance and Admiralty Lands, National Parks and National Historic Sites, Forest Experiment Stations, Experimental Farms, Indian reserves and in general all public lands held by the several Departments of the Federal Government for various purposes connected with federal administration. The Dominion Lands Act (R.S.C. 1927, c. 113) and the Ordnance and Admiralty Lands Act (R.S.C. 1927, c. 58) were repealed in 1950, and the Territorial Lands Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 263) and the Public Lands Grants Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 224) were enacted to replace them and became effective June 1, 1950.

The largest areas under federal administration are the Northwest Territories and Yukon Territory amounting to 1,511,979 sq. miles or about 40 p.c. of the surface of Canada. This part of the national domain, which, with the exception of the islands in Hudson Bay and James Bay, is all north of the 60th parallel of latitude, is under the administration of the Northern Administration and Lands Branch of the Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources.

Subsection 2.-Provincial Public Lands

Public lands of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Quebec, Ontario and British Columbia (except the Railway Belt and Peace River Block) have been administered since Confederation by the Provincial Governments. In 1930 the Federal Government transferred the unalienated portions of the natural resources of Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and of sections of British Columbia to their respective governments and all unalienated lands in the Province of Newfoundland, except those administered by the Federal Government, became provincial public lands under the Terms of Union on Mar. 31, 1949.

All land in the Province of Prince Edward Island has been alienated except 126 sq. miles under federal administration.

Information regarding provincial public lands may be obtained from the respective provinces. (See the Directory of Sources of Official Information, Chapter XXIX, under "Lands".)

Certain areas in most of the provinces have been set aside for parks and reserves; these are dealt with in Subsection 3.

Subsection 3.-National and Provincial Parks

The future of Canada in the field of outdoor recreation is being wisely provided for by the establishment of National and Provincial Parks. Many of these Parks are easily accessible by highway, rail or air and offer every type of accommodation from camping facilities to cosy cabins and palatial hotels. A wide variety of summer and winter recreational attractions are available in mountain, lakeland, woodland and seaside areas of exceptional scenic beauty.

The areas of the Parks are given in Table 2 on p. 24; location, year of establishment, area, and main characteristics of each National Park are given in Table 3, followed by a brief description of the Provincial Parks.

National Parks.—From 1885, when the first National Park was established around the mineral hot springs at Banff, Alta., until 1954, 29 areas covering more than 29,000 sq. miles have been set aside as National Parks.

These Parks are maintained by the Federal Government for the protection of their flora, fauna and natural phenomena, for the preservation of their scenic beauty and interest and, in some, the marking of their historical significance in the building of the nation. They are supervised by the National Parks Branch, Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources and are developed and maintained in such a manner as to provide perpetual inspiration, education and healthful recreation for present and future generations.